Friday, 9 December 2011

T-ara History

Pre Debut : 

The original five T-ara members were trained for three years, and released their first song Good Person for the Korean drama Cinderella Man soundtrack. Five member of T-ara that time is Hyomin, Jiwon, Jiyeon, Eunjung and Jiae.

In early 2009, Jiyeon was in a collaboration with SeeYa and Davichi for project single called Women's Generation.

In June 2009, Core Contents Media announced that Jiae and Jiwon left due to differences in music style. Soyeon, Boram and Qri were added. Later, it was revealed that Soyeon was originally cast to be a part of Girls' Generation (SNSD), but six months prior to her debut Soyeon withdrew from the group due to personal circumstances. Her stint away from the music industry was relatively short as she quickly joined T-ara following open auditions to replace the departing members. The group's agency released promotional pictures in July 2009 in accordance with the new members. Afterward, T-ara released their debut single Lies.

2009: Debut and Absolute First Album

T-ara made its debut on MBC's Radio Star talk show on July 29, 2009. The music video was released that day. Their first performance was on Mnet's M! Countdown show, where they performed "Lies" and "Wanna Play?". Their debut was looked upon negatively by webpostings, where people stated that it was lipsynched and commented that it seemed like an elementary school performance. The group announced afterward that future performances would be live. A few members of T-ara (Eunjung, Soyeon, Hyomin and Jiyeon) were in a project group with Supernova (Geonil, Kwangsu, Jihyuk) for the digital single TTL (Time to Love) and TTL Listen 2 (all T-ara's and Spernova's member). The single TTL became the members first number 1 as it topped many of the online charts. 

On December 1, 2009, T-ara released their first full-length album, named Absolute First Album. The album had two lead singles, "Bo Peep Bo Peep" and "Like The First Time", both with music videos.

On January 1, 2010, T-ara's single "Bo Peep Bo Peep" won an award on the New Year's Day episode of Music Bank. Two days later, they won the Mutizen award on Inkigayo. The following week, T-ara won their second consecutive Music Bank and Mutizen awards. The following week, T-ara won their third consecutive mutizen award (Triple Crown).

Later in the month, Core Contents Media announced that Eunjung and Hyomin would take part, alongside label mates SeeYa and Davichi, in project group, 'Wonder Woman'.

Consequently, the T-ara announced promotions for their follow up single, "Like The First Time". Promotions ended quickly as member Soyeon was diagnosed with H1N1.

In February, the group announced the release of a repackaged version of their debut album, titled Breaking Heart. The music video for its lead single, "I Go Crazy Because of You", was released on February 24, 2010. The group performed their debut stage on Mnet's M!Countdown. After promotions for "I Go Crazy Because of You", T-ara promoted the next single off the repackaged album titled "I'm Really Hurt".

In July 2010, T-ara introduced a new member, Ryu Hwayoung, to become a seven-member group.On November 23, 2010, a music video for their song "Why Are You Being Like This"  was revealed.

On December 1, 2010, T-ara released their Temptastic album in digital format. The music video for their title track, "Yayaya", was revealed on the same day. 

The album's physical release was delayed until December 3 due to the bombardment of Yeonpyeong in November. The group held their first comeback stage through KBS's Music Bank on December 3 and began promotions with their new 7th member, Hwayoung, and a new leader, Boram. T-ara received two consecutive wins for "Why Are You Being Like This" and "Yayaya" on Mnet M! Countdown on December 9, 2010 and December 16, 2010 respectively.

2011-present : Japanese debut, John Travolta Wannabe and Black Eyes

In June 2011, it was announced that T-ara would be making a comeback with the title track "Roly Poly" on July 1, 2011. It was also announced that the group would be advancing into the Japanese market with a showcase on July 5. As of June 14, 2011, Core Contents Media has announced that Hyomin shall be taking over the leadership for this album and for their Japanese promotions. They further explained saying, “In order to instill a sense of responsibility in each of the members, we have decided to change the leader for each new album release. We will be passing the leader role onto members who have not been leader yet. The reason Eunjung was leader during their debut was because she and Hyomin had trained the longest with T-ara, and we felt that she would be the best fit". They continued, “Likewise, Hyomin has been chosen for T-ara’s Japanese and ‘Roly-Poly’ promotions for the same reasons as Eunjung. We have made this decision after much discussions with both the members and our agency”.
T-ara's "Roly-Poly" music video and song was released on June 29 and reached #1 on Cyworld, GomTV, Bugs, Nate and Mnet real-time charts just after an hour.

On August 2011, T-ara released Roly-Poly in Copacabana. The song was named after "Copacabana" popularized in the 80's in Jongno disco clubs. The new version shows T-ara's new Eurodance moves and with the upgrade of the rhythm makes this version perfect for summer vacation songs.

T-ara released their debut Japanese single "Bo Peep Bo Peep" on September 28, which debuted at #1 on Oricon's daily single chart with 20,068 sold on its first day of release. The single is coupled with a Japanese remake of their song "I Go Crazy Because of You". The single also tops the Oricon's weekly single chart with 49,712 copies sold in the first week, a debut record for a Korean female pop group.

In September, it was announced that T-ara would be making a comeback in November. The album will contain a similar electronic sound to that of Absolute First Album and Breaking Heart. A 30-minute music video will be released in Early November which will have a drama-like storyline and a 1 billion won production budget.

T-ara's second Japanese single will be a remake of "Yayaya" from their Temptastic mini-album, which will be released on November 30.

On November 9th, 2011, T-ara released the track and music video for their newest comeback 'Cry Cry'. The 15-minute music video is part 1 of a longer story, and will be followed up in part 2 on December 24th with the music video for their upcoming song 'Lovey Dovey' which starred by Qri. Cry Cry part 1 starred T-ara's maknae Jiyeon and actor Cha Seung Won, along with others. On November 18th the band released a ballad version of 'Cry Cry', and with the week the original version hit #1 on various Korean Charts including Gaon and Naver.

wanna say something or share your interest ? leave your comment here :)

anak tenggiling tidur mati, komen/like-lah kalau baik hati :)


copyright@Si.y Arts 2010